J.C. Bose University of Science and Technology, YMCA, Faridabad in association with National Institute of Technical Teachers Training and Research (NITTTR), Chandigarh has been organizing a three-day workshop on ‘Choice Based Credit System’ for all newly recruited faculty members of the University. The workshop was inaugurated today by Registrar Dr. S.K. Garg.
The objective of organizing the workshop is to make the faculty members familiarise themselves about the Choice Based Credit System and to empower them to design a student-centric curriculum so that students could get the option to study the subjects of their area of interest.
Prof. Munish Vashishath and other senior faculty members were also present in the inaugural session. The resource person was Prof. Pramod Kumar Singla from the Department of Curriculum Development, NITTTR, Chandigarh who briefed the participants on the objectives and detailed structure of the CBCS. The workshop is being coordinated by Mr. Lalit Rai and Mr. Prashant Kumar, both Assistant Professors from the Department of Electronics Engineering of J.C. Bose University.
Speaking on this occasion, Registrar Dr. S.K. Garg stressed upon the Importance of outcome-based education system in higher education and urged the faculty members to design the syllabus in a way so that it will ensure the overall development of the students.
It may be noted that UGC had introduced CBCS in the year 2017 to enhance and promote the educational liberalization of existing conventional higher education models. Subsequently, J.C. University implemented the same in the year 2018 for all engineering programs at UG and PG levels.