Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA)


RUSA is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS), launched in 2013 aims at providing strategic funding to eligible state higher educational institutions. The central funding (in the ratio of 60:40 for general category States, 90:10 for special category states and 100% for union territories) would be norm based and outcome dependent. The funding would flow from the central ministry through the state governments/union territories to the State Higher Education Councils before reaching the identified institutions. The funding to states would be made on the basis of critical appraisal of State Higher Education Plans, which would describe each state’s strategy to address issues of equity, access and excellence in higher education.


The salient objectives of RUSA are to;

  • Improve the overall quality of state institutions by ensuring conformity to prescribed norms and standards and adopt accreditation as a mandatory quality assurance framework.
  • Usher transformative reforms in the state higher education system by creating a facilitating institutional structure for planning and monitoring at the state level, promoting autonomy in State Universities and improving governance in institutions.
  • Ensure reforms in the affiliation, academic and examination systems.
  • Ensure adequate availability of quality faculty in all higher educational institutions and ensure capacity building at all levels of employment.
  • Create an enabling atmosphere in the higher educational institutions to devote themselves to research and innovations.
  • Expand the institutional base by creating additional capacity in existing institutions and establishing new institutions, in order to achieve enrolment targets.
  • Correct regional imbalances in access to higher education by setting up institutions in unserved & underserved areas.
  • Improve equity in higher education by providing adequate opportunities of higher education to SC/STs and socially and educationally backward classes; promote inclusion of women, minorities, and differently abled persons.
Office Bearers

Dr. Komal Kumar Bhatia, Professor (CE)

Nodal Officer (RUSA)

Construction/Renovation Committee

Dr. OP Mishra, Assistant Professor (ME)

Dr. Rajiv Sindhwani, Assistant Professor (ME)

XEN and his representative

Purchase/Equipments Committee

Dr. Neelam Duhan, Associate Professor (CE)

Sh. Lalit Rai, Assistant Professor (ECE)

Dr. Umesh Kumar, Assistant Professor (CE)

Member (RUSA)

Dr. Lalit Mohan Goyal, Assistant Professor (CE)

Member (RUSA)

Sh. Piyush Gupta, Assistant Professor (CE)

Member (RUSA)

Finance Committee

Controller of Finance

Dr. Manisha, MBA